Chakras, how to open the heart chakra 

Chakras are energy points in your body, and there are seven in total. The heart chakra is located in the middle of the chest, near the heart, and represents love. When your heart chakra is open, you see people as they are and feel love for fellow humans and animals. But how do you open your heart chakra? Here are a few exercises you can perform: 

Reclining butterfly pose: 

This posture has a highly therapeutic effect and acts as a hip opener. We store a lot of emotions in our hips, making this area very effective to focus on during your yoga session. Lie down on your back and allow your knees to fall to the sides. Bring the soles of your feet together and bring them as close to your body as possible. Let your arms rest beside you with your palms facing up. 

Upward-facing dog pose: 

This exercise helps open up your chest and provides an energy boost. Start by lying on your stomach. Place your hands flat on the mat, approximately at waist height. Push yourself up, making sure your hips are slightly off the mat. Engage your abdominal muscles, look straight ahead, and hold this pose for a few seconds. 

Warrior pose: 

This is a standing position that requires balance. Stand upright and take a big step forward with your right foot. Rotate your left foot a quarter turn. Turn your hips to the left and bend your left knee. Extend your arms above your head and hold this pose for a few seconds. Then, repeat on the other side. 

Melting heart pose: 

Start in a Japanese sitting position. Come onto your hands and knees, then slowly move your hands forward until your hips are directly above your knees. Extend your arms above your head, creating a nice curve in your back. You are now bending forward. This exercise is excellent for your shoulders and for opening your heart chakra. 

Sharing is caring